On a clear day, you can see forever.

chang-qing-16464
Photo by Chang Qing on Unsplash

I had a few days off from work last week and you know what I realized? Life is much better when you can stay at home every day, enjoying the sunshine, reading five whole books (no really – FIVE), and not having to worry a damn about anything as mundane as working.

On one of those days off, I took a short drive around my neighbourhood and saw a handful of people strolling up and down the sidewalks looking as if they didn’t have a care in the world (and, to be fair, they probably didn’t). These, my friends, are the housewives of wealthy husbands. They do things like sleep in, watch television morning shows, apply makeup in front of their vanities for 25 minutes, and brunch with other housewives. How does one achieve this level of godliness?!

I want that life. How do I get there?

rawpixel-com-191152
Photo by rawpixel.com on Unsplash

I want to go to sleep at night and wake up every morning without having to worry about a commute into the city and sitting at a desk for 8.5 hours to make a living. I want to be completely free and enjoy my life. What I’m doing right now – working for corporate America – isn’t what turns me on. You know what turns me on? The option to spend my entire weekday inside a library filled with musty-smelling books and all the free DVD rentals I can shake a stick at.

I want to feel completely free and unemcumbered. I want to spend the day at home with my laptop on my lap (naturally, where it should be) and I want to write for ages. I don’t want to be disturbed and I want my musings to turn out to be the next big bestselling masterpiece. And, after writing that masterpiece, I want to step outside and take a leisurely stroll through my neighbourhood like all the other pampered housewives do. I want manicures, I want Brazilian blowouts, I want expensive espresso machines, I want rose gold accessories, I want FREEDOM.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

