Killing me softly

Guys, when I say that the past few months have been a massive stressball of dicks, I mean it. Like I really mean it. I don’t think I’ve ever been this stressed before in my life (not even when I had a heart operation at the age of 19, and that’s saying a lot).

One of my immediate family members was diagnosed with cancer late last year and is currently on her deathbed, so there’s that. My job security is currently sitting at nil. I’m going to be moving out of my parents’ house in the fall and I have no idea how to cook my own meals. My trip to the UK has been up in the air more times than I care to admit, and I’m trying to kick a lifelong habit of chewing the inside of my cheeks and lips and it’s not going all that well. So, there’s that.

I’m turning 35 next month and I constantly find myself wondering “is this what adulting is?” The stress is killing me like a thousand pointy swords straight through the groin. All I’d really like right now is a sense of security, some freedom, some relief and to know where my next home-cooked meal is coming from.

*I just stopped myself from biting my lip – good job, Veebs*

This is me reaching out to you for help. How do you guys cope with stress? What makes you feel calm and centered in the midst of a storm? How do you avoid getting stabbed in the crotch by the gods?

8 thoughts on “Killing me softly

Add yours

  1. I find that being stressed is inevitable, and sometimes all it takes to help me out is a good old ugly cry.

    Other days? Not so much. When those days come around, I tend to find fresh air (even just an open window with “clean” air), a stressball, a good book or some incredible distractions are just a number of things I find help me.

    Sometimes, more than I hate to admit, they don’t work, and going to bed on a night is the only solution..

    PS so pleased you’re back! ❤

    Like

  2. I’m so sorry you are going through all of this. When I was dealing with a lot of stress when my father was dying, I did a lot of self-therapy. I gave myself mental breaks to focus on other things before going back and dealing with the stressor. Watching sitcoms like The Golden Girls, sitting outside in the sunshine reading a good book, watching movies, taking bubble baths, dips in the pool, having a nice cocktail at a bar with my husband, etc. It’s in part avoidance but it’s also self-care. I found I could deal with the stress when I gave myself breaks from it.

    ::hugs::

    And I wish you lived closer to me as I’d be more than happy to teach you how to cook. I taught myself how to cook with lots of online recipes, food blogs and the help of TV shows. If you can get your hands on old episodes of cooking shows I would do that. I learned quite a bit from Mario Batali, Rachel Ray, etc. And America’s Test Kitchen and Milk Street are advancing my knowledge of cooking.

    Like

    1. Oh darling, I freaking love you ❤ Just knowing that there are people out there like you who have my back and support me means the world to me. I know I say it all the time, but seriously, you're awesome.

      I've tried the whole self-caring thing but nothing seems to be helping all that much at the moment. Like, I'll sit down to read a book and though my eyes are scanning the page, nothing makes sense and I end up re-reading the same bloody paragraph over and over 10 million times. Same with watching old movies – I find that after a couple minutes, I'm no longer paying attention and my mind starts to wander. I'm starting to think that I need therapy or something 😦

      I love Mario Batali, so I'll definitely give some of his recipes a try! Thank you babe xx

      Like

  3. I find it a little morbidly reassuring that the stress hasn’t just been mounting on my end.
    I’m sorry the same has been happening for you.

    My go to stress relievers are, writing, knitting, watching video game play throughs, and a good cry.

    Like

    1. Sounds like we’re both really stressed out and overwhelmed right now. Let’s hug it out!

      Writing, reading and watching classic films and Britcoms usually help me relax and forget about my stressors, but lately nothing seems to be helping. I have a feeling it’s due to the fact that all this shit is happening to me AT ONCE.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

